Administration at JCBDD

Our Mission, Board Members, and Administration



Our Mission    


The mission of the Jefferson County Board of Developmental Disabilities is to establish quality support focused on the individual which will provide opportunities for informed choices and achievements of the choices. These choices will provide an opportunity for individuals to plan their futures in where they live, work, learn and develop social relationships. 




 Board Members    
Jim Padden  President
William Kerr Vice President
Chris Irvin Secretary
Dick Allen  Board Member
Dr. Ed Florak  Board Member
James Morgan  Board Member
Lorie Sullivan  Board Member


Office Administration


Michael Mehalik, Superintendent

Mr. Mehalik is a lifelong resident of Jefferson County and has been employed by the Board since 1983.  Mr. Mehalik has held a variety of positions with the agency including serving many years as the Director of Jeffco Workshop (the adult division of the Board).  Mr. Mehalik has a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology from the University of Pittsburgh and a Masters of Science in Education from the University of Dayton.  Mr. Mehalik was named Superintendent of the Jefferson County Board of DD in November of 2007.   
Kim Dunlope Director of Residential Services
Michael Zinno, CPA Director of Finance and IT, Transportation/Maintenance Supervisor
Darlene Perko Director of Consumer Support
Rachel Bodo School Of Bright Promise Principal
Karen Fonow Director of Human Resources

256 John Scott Hwy

Steubenville, Ohio 43952

740 264 7176